Facilities Division Safety

The Facilities Division provides a variety of services directed to create and preserve the physical environment that advances the university.  Facilities employees must complete each and every task with their personal safety and the safety of their co-workers at the front of every decision.  A safe workforce is a productive workforce.

It is NC State University’s environmental health and safety policy that no job is so important and no service so urgent, that we cannot take the time to perform our work safely, and in an environmentally conscientious manner.

The Facilities Division’s safety mission is No One Gets Hurt: Go For Zero. The purpose is for all Facilities Division employees to make safety personal, be able to purposefully identify hazards and establish control methods to address these hazards.

Field Guide

The most important safety info — all in one place

Get In Touch

Submit safety questions, ideas, comments and concerns


Access safety training resources including the Safety Training Plan

Hazard ID and Mitigation

Facilities Division employees use the following process prior to each job task:

  1. Identify Hazards 
  2. Assess Hazards
  3. Establish Controls using the Hierarchy of Controls
  4. Monitor Effectiveness

If a hazard is not controlled, every individual employee is empowered and expected to PAUSE the activity until action is taken to control the hazard.


Safety Action Committee

The purpose of the Safety Action Committee is to establish and sustain an effective safety culture. The goal of the Safety Action Committee is to ensure that facilities employees at all levels within the division are active participants in the facilities safety program, thereby positively affecting the safety culture. Employees are encouraged to contact committee members submit questions, comments, ideas or concerns.

Safety Staff

Brian Carter

Facilities Division Safety Specialist


Anna Haggy

Safety Specialist